The top 10 goalkeepers in the history of the World Cup

The top 10 goalkeepers in the history of the World Cup

FR Stories

The foundation of any trophy-winning side starts with the odd man out, the man wearing a different strip and clunky gloves.

Here are the top 10 goalkeepers of football history.

Enrique Ballestrero, Uruguay

The goalkeeper went on to play all four of their matches throughout the competition as the host nation won the inaugural World Cup.

Gianpiero Combi, Italy

In 1934, Combi captained Italy to their first World Cup title after being overtaken in the pecking order by young Inter goalkeeper Carlo Ceresoli.

Aldo Olivieri, Italy

The goalkeeper featured in every minute of his country's triumphant campaign, as I Azzurri saw off Norway, France, Brazil and fellow finalists Hungary to achieve success.

Roque Maspoli, Uruguay

Played as a goalkeeper for three of Uruguay's four matches throughout the tournament, earning a clean sheet in an 8-0 thumping of Bolivia.

Antonio Carbajal, Mexico

The Mexican goalkeeper is the only player to have featured in a whopping five World Cup tournaments.

Toni Turek, West Germany

Was pivotal in West Germany's victorious run to the final, where they avenged a heavy defeat to Hungary to win the World Cup for the first time.

Harry Gregg, Northern Ireland

The former Manchester United shot-stopper was a crucial component in his country's qualification to the 1958 World Cup.

Gilmar, Brazil

The great Gilmar earned 93 caps over his international career and featured at three World Cups.

Gordon Banks, England

Banks will forever be remembered for what is widely regarded as the greatest save of all time to deny Pele another World Cup goal in 1970.

Lev Yashin, USSR

His gravitas in the game and respect for the game resulted in the World Cup's Golden Glove award being named after him in 1994 and 2006.

With Latest Stories! 

Stay Updated